Give What You’ve Got

When I do something, I want to be really good at it – right from the beginning. I know that is an unrealistic expectation but I still find myself getting frustrated when I don’t measure up. I don’t always start out with those intentions but usually over the course of doing I find myself in that mindset. Take this blog for example. I started this blog for several reasons but over the course of the this year (11 days) only one has become paramount. What if God wants to use me in this way? What if He has a plan for this blog?

I get an email called Heart to Heart with Holley. She said something today that really struck my heart.

And then it seemed He whispered, “Just offer what you have. I will make up the difference.

Yes, of course!

The loaves and fish.

You know that story. It’s the one where Jesus is teaching a huge, hungry crowd and there’s nothing to feed them. All anyone has to offer is five loaves and two fish. But in the hands of Jesus…

They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces of bread and fish. Mark 6:42-43

Yes, in the hands of Jesus a little is a lot, even more than we need.

There is such freedom in that thought. Just offer what you have and God will make up the difference. Even as I type, thoughts assail my mind. “What are you doing? Who do you think you are? You’re not a writer.” I’m not and don’t have to pretend to be. I just have to be who I am and offer myself to God to use as He sees fit. I love the saying “If God calls you, He will equip you.” The only thing God asks of me is to be a willing vessel. If He wants me to do something, He has a reason for it and that is reason enough for me. 2011 is my year to say “yes” to God.

I also ran across two other things I’d like to share with you. The first is A Blogger’s Prayer. This really gets back to the heart of the matter for me. It is so easy to get caught up in the stats and number, comments and subscribers. It’s a nice reminder that in everything we do, we should do it for the glory of God.

Six Thing Every Christian Blogger Needs to Know really expands on that thought. Here is a little excerpt of some of my favorite parts:

I say this to you, a quote a friend found somewhere and sent to me: To do things no one else is doing, you can’t do what everybody else is doing. To be an upside down kingdom blogger, we can’t do what everyone in the secular blogosphere is doing.

In the upside down blogging kingdom we commit to set our sights on God and not sitemeters. And in the upside down kingdom of blogging the only number that matters is One:

The One who has called you

The One who is your audience

The One who gives you your gifts and the

And the One to whom you give the gifts back to…

All that matters is the Lord God who is One.

I say this to quietly to the blogosphere:

Jesus Himself had only 12 followers.

And He lost one.

So if Jesus had only 12 followers… how many followers do we really need? If God Himself had only 12 followers and He lost one — would you blog for even one follower?

 It matters to serve One. In the upside down kingdom, One is the one you serve, not the readers.

It’s a great post. You should definitely click over and read the whole thing. It was just what I needed to hear today. Even if you don’t blog, it serves as a great reminder that we should serve God in whatever we do and not man. Only One opinion matters and you can’t serve both. Who will you choose?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Give What You’ve Got

  1. buttermilk80 says:

    Isn’t it interesting how we come into confrontation with a simple awareness: We can’t change the heart or mind of anyone but ourselves (and in that it takes the work of God in us to accomplish even that). We reach a sort of caring/noncaring attitude about the Gospel. We deliver what we can and leave the rest to Jesus and those who might be affected by the work He does in us.

    I guess it was this which brought to mind the following: “In everything you do, be carefully careless”.

    By His Grace.

    • Nicole says:

      Thank you for the comment. What you said reminded me of a scripture. It’s 1 Corinthians 3:6 which says, “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.” Sometimes God only asks us to plant the seed and we may not see the harvest but we’ve got to trust that God will bring it about.

  2. Courtney says:

    What a great post! Very inspiring and comforting at the same time.

Leave a Reply

